Goober Space

The atmospheric layer of silliness, love, and figuring life out. : By Melly Goobers

Bruchetta Love and Cannoli Craziness

on September 10, 2012

So…. this weeks challenge for myself was to make cannoli’s. I finally took on this challenge tonight and made dinner and everything for my parents, brother, and my grandma. It was a delicious dinner, all italian, with spaghetti, meat sauce, bruchetta, and cannoli’s. Pure goodness. 

However my cannoli’s didn’t really work as planned…. I used this recipe: http://glutenfreegirl.com/gluten-free-cannoli/ but I was missing the guar gum and didn’t have any cannoli cutters or metal tubes for them. :/ So they ended up looking…. uh flat… and I think I was supposed to whip or beat the ricotta cheese together because it doesn’t look nearly as light and fluffy as theirs does.

Img_1399

So I ate it like a cookie with dressing. :) meh.

Img_1398

On the other hand the BRUCHETTA WAS WONDERFULNESS!!!

Img_1392

The tomato bruchetta I made was heaven on a baguette. I put a dollop of that Garlic Feta cheese on top of it too and my taste buds were ecstatic!

Here’s my recipe:

sliced baguettes

1 Big tomato.

4 fresh basil leaves

3 garlic cloves

1/2 to 2 cups of olive oil

1 tablespoon of McCormick’s italian seasoning

1 tablespoon of balsamic vinaigrette

And if you happen to have some garlic fetta cheese like I did, I highly recommend putting some on there!!

Chop up the tomato into little rectangles or just as chopped up as you can without smooshing or detaching too many parts of the tomato. Put it in a medium sized bowl.

Now slice all of the basil leaves into little minced pieces and put them in with the tomato.

Now take a garlic press, put the garlic in and try to get as much of the garlic as you can in with the tomatoes.

Add your olive oil and your balsamic vinaigrette.

Put some italian seasoning in there.

Now mix it all up and let the tomatoes soak in the flavor for about 30 minutes, or more if you get carried away cooking other things.

The STRAWBERRY BRUCHETTA:

Img_1395

My first reaction was WOW! While it’s not my favorite, it certainly surprised me. In a good way, but I can’t eat too much of it because I just get overwhelmed with it’s unique flavor. I beg you to try this, it’s a recipe that will definitely change the way you’ll want to experiment with flavor. A very interesting taste and something I’ll definitely make again when I am trying to impress and surprise with my limited cooking abilities.

Here’s the website to the recipe I found for this!

http://annies-eats.com/2011/06/13/strawberry-bruschetta/

So as you can tell, tonight was VERY eventful and increadibly fun. Nothing better than having a family dinner and trying something new. It was so much fun to make these with my mom too, we had a blast!

And since goobs was at work tonight I saved him some bruchetta too. ;)

Please let me know if you guys have any recipe suggestions!

<3

Melly

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

